Tampa DUI FAQ
When you’ve been pulled over for drunk driving in Tampa, it may feel like there’s no use fighting the charges. They did a field sobriety test and took you in, and now you’re in trouble. It can feel hopeless and confusing, but you’ll need to fight back to avoid major penalties.
If you’re struggling with a drunk driving case, check out our Tampa DUI FAQ and speak to an attorney. At Hersem Law, we understand that a DUI case is no easy undertaking for you, so we’ll help you fight to protect your freedom.
What is the legal BAC limit in Florida?
The legal limit in Florida often depends on whether there are special circumstances for your case. Typically, you’ll need to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or less to legally drive in Florida. However, certain drivers will need a lower BAC to not be considered as driving drunk.
If you’re under twenty-one, you’ll need to keep your BAC level below 0.02 percent. If you don’t, you might be facing charges. If you’re a commercial driver, such as a semi-truck driver, you’ll need to remain below 0.04 percent to avoid an arrest.
Could I go to jail for a DUI?
Unfortunately, in Florida, even a first offense could land you with jail time if you don’t fight back. For a first-time offender, you could be seeing jail time of up to six months if you don’t defend yourself. For a third offense, you may receive up to five years in jail.
Worse, that’s not the only punishment you’ll be facing. Even first offenders may receive an ignition interlock device, or IID. This device requires that you take and pass a BAC test before you start your car to prevent drunk driving. An IID can be embarrassing, so fight back before you’re required to get one.
How can I get my DUI charges dropped?
When you’re accused of drunk driving in Tampa, you’ll need to gather evidence that shows you weren’t guilty of a crime. How your lawyer approaches this will depend on your case. For example, your lawyer might challenge the accuracy of the field sobriety tests. These tests can be questionable, and if not used properly, they can show incorrect results.
You might also have been affected differently from the time of the arrest to the time that you were tested in the police station. For example, you might have been driving safely, but the police pulled you over anyway. By the time you arrived at the station, your BAC levels were much higher, even though they might not have been otherwise. Your DUI lawyer can challenge these actions.
Get Answers from a Tampa DUI Lawyer
It’s not easy to defend yourself against DUI charges. You’re likely confused, unfamiliar with the laws, and overwhelmed by the arrest. When that happens, you’ll need more than a Tampa DUI FAQ. You’ll also need a lawyer from Hersem Law.
Our attorneys understand how difficult your situation is, and they’ll fight back to help you get your charges dropped. Get started today with a free strategy session, and we’ll fight back for you. Reach out by calling 813-251-7291 or by filling out the online form below.