Florida DUI Laws
When you’re pulled over because an officer thinks you were drinking and driving, it’s important to act now, not later. Florida DUI laws can leave you struggling with your finances, your record, and your license.
That’s why you could benefit from a lawyer on your side as soon as possible. At Hersem Law, we know how seriously these laws can affect your future, so we’ll focus on helping you deal with your case before you’re convicted of a DUI.
Charges for a DUI Offense
When you’re arrested for drunk driving, you’re facing major penalties. A DUI is a misdemeanor, and while that may not be as serious as a felony charge, the consequences can be harsh.
For example, the fines can leave you struggling financially for years after the arrest. These fines may be up to $1,000 for a first conviction alone. If this isn’t your first conviction or if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was high, the penalties may be even higher.
Jail time is a possibility as well. A first incident can mean up to six months in jail. That’s time you could use for school, work, and time with your family. Because these penalties can affect you in so many ways, it’s best to fight your charges now before a conviction.
Consequences for Your License
When you’re accused of a DUI in Florida, one of your first concerns may be, “What about my license?” Unfortunately, a DUI can leave you without a license for some time. Even a first-time offense could leave you with up to a year-long suspension. At minimum, your Florida driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days.
Remember as well that you can lose your license if you refuse to take a sobriety test. Florida’s implied consent laws state that if you have a driver’s license, you agree to a sobriety test. That can mean time without your license if you then refuse a test, so talk to your DUI lawyer about focusing on getting your drunk driving charges reduced or dropped.
Speak to Your DUI Lawyer for Help
When you’re accused of driving under the influence, you’ll need to seek out evidence that you weren’t responsible. Sadly, many people don’t think about the severe consequences that could haunt them because of Florida DUI laws.
Instead of accepting those penalties, however, find the right defense with a lawyer from Hersem Law. We understand how severe these penalties can be. Fortunately, we also know how to help. Don’t let a single mistake disrupt your life—fight back with the help of a Florida attorney.
We are also proud to offer free strategy sessions. If you’ve been accused of a DUI, consider bringing your case to us. We’ll discuss what you need to know about state laws and what we can do to help you get started.
When you’re ready to talk about your drunk driving case, reach out for help. Give us a call at 813-251-7291 or complete the following online form to get started.