Zero Tolerance Laws in Florida
Drunk driving is already a serious concern, but state law enforcement takes teens driving under the influence even more severely. Florida’s zero tolerance laws are in place to deter teenagers from driving after drinking. Whether you’re under the legal drinking age or your child has been arrested under these laws, you need to know what to expect before your court date.
For more details or to get help with a DUI case where Florida zero tolerance laws may apply, contact Hersem Law to speak with an attorney. Your lawyer is ready to help you get these charges reduced or dismissed.
How Zero Tolerance Laws May Affect You
In Florida, zero tolerance laws make it illegal for anyone under 21 to drive with nearly any amount of alcohol in their system.
Under these laws, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, of 0.02 percent or higher if you are under 21 years old. The penalties for violating zero tolerance laws in Florida are serious and can include the following:
- Automatic license suspension
- For a first offense, a $500 fine and up to six months in jail
- For a second offense, a $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail
- For a third offense or greater, a $2,000 fine and up to two years in jail
- Community service
If you find yourself in a situation where you have been arrested for DUI, you may need a law firm on your side. We’re here to guide you through this difficult process and determine the best defense for your case.
Compliance with Florida’s Zero Tolerance Laws
The best way to avoid penalties under Florida’s zero tolerance law is to abstain from alcohol until you’re of legal age and to avoid driving under the influence. To help avoid drunk driving, take care to pay attention to the amount of alcohol in a drink. For example, wine and liquor both have a higher concentration of alcohol than beer.
You also need to know the amount of time it takes for your body to metabolize one drink, which depends on several factors, such as the following:
- Your Weight – The concentration of alcohol in the body depends on your body weight. For example, if you weigh 150 pounds and consume a 12-ounce beer over 30 minutes, it will take hours for the alcohol to leave your system.
- Food Consumption – If you eat before or while drinking alcohol, it will take longer for your body to absorb the alcohol into your bloodstream. This means that the effects of alcohol will be less severe and occur over a longer period of time.
- Other Substances – Whether you’re taking medications or illegal substances may affect how quickly your body processes alcohol. They can also impact the effect alcohol has on you, potentially worsening the effect.
You Don’t Have to Face a DUI Alone
Florida’s zero tolerance laws and penalties for drunk driving can be severe, especially if you’re used to driving to school, college, or work. If you’re under 21 and arrested for a DUI, it will be on your permanent record. You will also face fines and possible jail time.
Protect your future by calling Hersem Law at 813-251-7291 or filling out our online form for a prompt response from an experienced attorney.